Click here for the WCCNM & NM Workforce Connection COVID-19 Updates

As a precautionary measure to mitigate the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19), the WCCNM is providing virtual & limited in-person services at the New Mexico Workforce Connection (NMWC) centers across the four-county region. The NMWC Centers are providing all services virtually by phone, email & video conference. Limited in-person appointments are available upon request. Contact us 505.843.1900 or email NMWorkforceConnection@wccnm.org

WCCNM logo
NMWCC logo

Serving Bernalillo, Sandoval, Torrance & Valencia Counties

yellow overlay
white overlay

WIOA Youth Program

single-man-icon

Individuals

an employee and employer meeting

Employers

Individuals

PROGRAM ANNOUCEMENTS & UPDATES!

Are you interested in construction & the skilled trades? Check this out! Only a few spots left and final deadline is Friday, February 26.

What does the WIOA Youth Program offer you?

If you are eligible, the WIOA Youth Program can help you access opportunities for:

  • work-based learning
  • industry-recognized credentials
  • employment in high-demand occupations.

The program can provide:

  • paid and unpaid work experiences (employment, apprenticeship, internships)
  • tuition assistance for education & occupational skills training
  • adult mentoring
  • activities that help youth prepare for and transition to postsecondary education and training

How do you know if you qualify?

Note: Official documentation will be required for verification.

You qualify if you are IN SCHOOL and…

  • between the ages of 14 and 21
  • attending school (secondary or post-secondary)
  • low income (see details below)
  • meet at least one of the following:
    • Deficient in basic skills
    • English language learner
    • An offender
    • Homeless, runaway or foster child
    • Pregnant or parenting
    • Individual with a disability
    • Require additional assistance to enter or complete an educational program or to secure or hold employment. (locally defined)

You qualify if you are OUT OF SCHOOL and…

  • are between the ages of 16 and 24
  • are not attending school
  • meet at least one of the following:
    • School drop out
    • Within the age of compulsory school attendance but have not attended school for at least the most recent compete school year calendar quarter
    • A recipient of a secondary school diploma or its recognized equivalent and are a low-income individual who is either basic skills deficient or an English language learner
    • Subject to the juvenile or adult justice system
    • Homeless, runaway or foster child
    • Pregnant or parenting.
    • Individual with a disability.
    • A low-income individual (see details below) who requires additional assistance to enter or complete an educational program or to secure or hold employment. (locally defined)

How do you know if you qualify as low income?

You qualify as low income if you:

  • receive, or in the past 6 months have received, assistance through SNAP, TANF, SSI, or state or local income-based public assistance programs, or are in a family that meets this requirement
  • are in a family with a total family income that does not exceed the higher of the poverty line or 70% of the LLSIL (see details below)
  • are a homeless individual
  • are a foster child
  • are an individual with a disability whose income meets the requirements
  • are an individual who receives or is eligible to receive free or reduced price lunch

What income levels qualify as “low income”?

If you live in the metro area, the following apply:

Family size Income
Family of one: $12,760
Family of two: $19,025
Family of three: $26,121
Family of four: $32,245
Family of five: $38,050
Family of six: $44,504

Note: For a family size greater than six, add $6,454 for each additional family member.

If you live in a non-metro area, the following apply:

Family size Income
Family of one: $12,760
Family of two: $18,720
Family of three: $25,702
Family of four: $31,724
Family of five: $37,441
Family of six: $43,788

Note: For a family size greater than six, add $6,347 for each additional family member.

What documents will I need to verify my eligibility?

You will be asked to provide the following:

  • State-issued ID or driver’s license
  • Birth certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of income (if applicable)
  • Proof of Selective Service registration (if you are a male 18 or over)

How do you enroll in the WIOA Youth Program?

You can email Youth@wccnm.org or contact the New Mexico Workforce Connection Youth Program and staff nearest you:

Bernalillo County

Tammy Chavez l 505.818.1428 l tchavez@wccnm.org

Cristina Garduno l 505.263.5877 l cgarduno@wccnm.org

Audriana Vega l 505.388.8462 l avega@wccnm.org

John Morin l 505.588.1926 l jmorin@wccnm.org

Sandoval County

Lisa Hunt l 505.771.2160 ext 231 l lhunt@wccnm.org

Eric Jack l 505.721.0972 l ejack@wccnm.org

Jennifer Luna l 505.907.1401 l jluna@wccnm.org

Torrance County

Avery Anaya l 505.910.0368 l aanaya@wccnm.org

Valencia County

Frank A. Gurule l 505.212.9122 l fgurule@wccnm.org

Monique Marquez l 505.721.0962 l mmarquez@wccnm.org

Marcelina Vargas l 505.212.9121 l mvargas@wccnm.org

Employers

Are you interested in learning about the benefits of partnering with the WIOA Youth program?

We invite you to connect with us today!

Call: 505.843.1900

Email: youth@wccnm.org